Sweet and Spicy Tilapia

The great tilapia recipe search continues!  I am still looking for a great tilapia recipe that feels like the flavor penetrates the meat instead of sitting on top of it.  Today’s contender is sweet and spicy citrus tilapia.  For this recipe you will need:

  • Tilapia
  • Orange Juice
  • Lime Juice
  • Brown Sugar
  • Pepper (black and red)
  • Paprika

Check out the full recipe here, or my pin on my Yum board.

Sweet and Spicy Tilapia

Review

I really felt like this recipe did not live up to it’s name.  I got plenty of sweet (which was helped along by a very sweet orange), but I didn’t get a whole lot of spicy.  I feel like this recipe had potential, but didn’t deliver.  It also was another in a long line of “flavor on top” recipes.  I think that it had potential to go deeper, but just 15 minutes of marinade time was not nearly long enough for that to happen.

I can’t say that I would try this again, because trying it again would require so many tweaks that it would be come a new recipe.  That said, I might try to make all those changes.  I think the idea of the orange and lime juice as a base is a good one, but the spice factor needs to be punched up, maybe with a pinch of cayenne, or with some diced peppers.  I would also up the marinade time.  for some reason, tilapia seems to really fight flavor infusion, so I’d probably look at marinading for an hour or more to help combat that.

Overall, the recipe, as is, was a let down.  It has a lot of potential, but it’s up to the chef to take that potential and make it into something special.

Leave a Reply

