Chocolate Covered Strawberry Smoothie

It happened again.  I got suckered in by some good looking produce at the grocery store, and I bought it without having any idea what I was going to do with it.  Luckily, strawberries are a great smoothie ingredient, so my path was pretty clear.  For this smoothie you will need:

  • 1/2 a banana
  • 8-10 strawberries
  • a handful of spinach
  • 1/4 cup yogurt
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
  • ice cubes

You might have noticed that this time I gave you all the measurements.  That’s because this is my recipe, so no links to sources!

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Smoothie

Process

Peel the half banana.  If you have a frozen one, awesome!  I didn’t and it turned out fine.  Chunk the banana and throw it in the blender.  Cut the stems off the strawberries and add them to the blender.  Add the yogurt and chocolate chips to the blender.  Throw in as much spinach as you feel like.  I put in about 1/4-1/2 cup, but more or less is totally fine.  Finally, add your ice cubes.  I have one of those ice cube trays that comes with your refrigerator and used 8 of those cubes.  I think that’s equal to a cup or a cup and a half of ice.  Put as much in as you feel like.  Keep in mind that the less ice you add the warmer the final product will be.  Blend everything until smooth.

I really enjoyed this smoothie because it was quick and simple.  It really did taste like chocolate covered strawberries, and I felt fine about the chocolate chips because I also had spinach in there.  I’d love for you to give this a try and tell me what you think!

Leave a Reply

