Swiss Steak

I don’t know why I do this to myself, but I keep picking out slow cooker recipes that have a bunch of pre-cooking prior to throwing everything into the pot.  My favorite part about using the slow cooker is that it is supposed to be little effort and easy clean up for me.  That’s never the case with something like today’s swiss steak.  For this you will need:

  • Steak
  • Mushrooms
  • Red Wine
  • Onions
  • Chicken Stock
  • Flour

Get the full recipe here, or check out my pin on my Yum board.

Swiss Steak

Review

While there was plenty of prep work for this one, it was nice that it could all be done in one pan so there was less clean up.  I’m still a little annoyed at myself for picking something that had prep work before throwing it in the slow cooker, but that’s on me.  Anyway, overall, this recipe was underwhelming.  Even though there’re plenty of items that should add flavor, this was very, very bland.  It could have benefited from some peppercorns or some other spice.  It smelled amazing all day, so it was a real let down to not have the flavor the smell seemed to be promising.

Will I make this again?  No.  There’s too much work for it to get a second try.  I’d still have to prep everything before it went into the slow cooker, and on top of that I would need to play around with seasonings to add some much needed flavor.  I’ll pass on making this again and find something new to try out and potentially be disappointed by.  I’d rather be let down by something new than something I’ve tried before.

Leave a Reply

