Lavender Lemonade

I love lavender.  It’s such a fun, subtle flavor.  So the other day when I read for a recipe that called for lavender simple syrup, my life was changed.  How had I never thought of this?  Off to the kitchen!

Today I’m going to share how to make lavender simple syrup and how to mix the syrup with lemonade to get a delightful summer drink!  For this you will need:

  • Lemons
  • Sugar
  • Water
  • Lavender

Lavender Lemonade

Process

Simple Syrup

  1. Measure out one cup of water, one cup of sugar, and one tablespoon of lavender.  Add all ingredients to a saucepan.
  2. Bring mixture to a boil, stirring regularly.
  3. Make sure the lavender has been well mixed in and let steep for 30 minutes.
  4. Strain out the lavender.  Your simple syrup is ready!

Lemonade

  1. Juice several lemons.  I just juiced a bag and stored the juice until I was ready for it.
  2. In a glass, mix together a ratio of one part simple syrup, one part lemon juice, and 4 parts water.  For me, I made one glass with 2 oz syrup, 2 oz juice, and 8 oz water.
  3. Stir well, otherwise the parts will layer (see picture).
  4. Add some ice (if that’s your thing) and enjoy!

This process is easy and makes for a great summertime drink!  I hope you enjoy it.  Let me know if you come up with some fun uses for your lavender syrup!

Leave a Reply

