Greek Chicken and Lemon Rice

Back in my hometown there’s this restaurant that isn’t great, but was always open late, had small-budget friendly prices, and had the best lemon rice soup in town.  (To be fair, I’m not sure anyone else even sold lemon rice soup.)  It wasn’t something I always wanted, but when you wanted it, you wanted it.  I’ve never tried to make lemon rice soup, but when I saw this recipe, I had hoped it would capture a lot of the same flavors.  For this you will need:

  • Chicken thighs
  • Rice
  • Lemons
  • Spices
  • Chicken broth

Check out the full recipe here, or my pin on my Yum board.

Greek Chicken with Lemon RIce

Review

This recipe falls into the “glad I tried it” category.  It wasn’t bad, it wasn’t hard, it just wasn’t me.  The ingredients are easy to procure; the directions easy to follow.  It does take some time for everything to marinade and cook, but that just means planning ahead prior to cooking.  I felt like there was too much liquid in the recipe, so if I were to do this again I would cut that down.  It was almost like I was making lemon rice soup instead of just lemon rice.  But the flavors were bold and exactly what you expect when reading the recipe.  No false advertising here!

This recipe was a great date with someone I had zero chemistry with.  Everything went super well.  Everything tasted just fine.  There were no problems during our time together.  It just wasn’t right.  I’m sorry Greek chicken with lemon rice; it’s not you, it’s me.

Leave a Reply

