June Birchbox

How was everyone’s 4th of July?  Mine was fun!  We had guests, which doesn’t happen a whole lot since we live so far from our friends and family.  I wish I could also say that my June Birchbox was a lot of fun, but this month just wasn’t great for me.  Let’s discuss why.

June Birchbox

  1. Dr. Jart+ BB Night Beauty Balm (Full size:  $38):  I’ve never used a BB cream before, though I’ve read about them, and I was excited to give this a try.  Unfortunately, when I put this on, my face turned red and stayed red for several minutes, so I decided to wash it off.  It didn’t hurt, and the redness went away when I washed my face.  I’m not sure if something in this reacted to something else I had used, or if I had a reaction to something in the product itself, but this was one and done for me.  I didn’t bother trying it again.
  2. Real Chemistry Luminous 3-Minute Peel  (Full size:  $48):  I had no idea what to expect with this product.  A peel is another thing I’ve never used before, but also something I had no real interest in trying.  I’m happy it came in my box, but I have no idea if this product does anything.  To use this peel, you apply it to a clean face, and massage it in until it starts to ball up under your fingers, then simply rinse.  It did do what it said, balling up, but I couldn’t tell a difference when I was done, so I wasn’t sure if I had basically applied rubber cement to my face and then used its gum-like qualities to help remove it.  (Obviously it wasn’t that thick or sticky, but you get the idea).  I didn’t notice any difference to my skin, even though it says you will have instantly softer, smoother, brighter skin.  Another bust for me.
  3. Supergoop Everyday SPF 50 with Cellular Response Technology  (Full size: $19-48):  I was very excited about this product.  I burn pretty easily, and I live in a place that is sunny most of the year.  A quality sunscreen is a must for me.  This was a highlight for this month’s box.  This went on light and wasn’t greasy, effectively dealing with my two biggest pet peeves about sunscreen.  I wore just this sun screen while spending around 2 hours of peak burn time outside.  I didn’t use a hat or anything else.  With how light the lotion was, I was concerned it just couldn’t hold up, but it absolutely did!  I wasn’t even pink when I got back inside.  It also says it is water resistant, but I didn’t really test that.  Will I buy this?  Probably.  But first I need to work my way through all the thick, greasy stuff I have sitting in my cabinets.
  4. Amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo  (Full size:  $21):  Dry shampoo is something that sounded lovely for curly hair, but I had never heard of one that the directions didn’t direct you to brush it into your hair (a big fat NOPE for curly hair).  I was pleasantly surprised to find that there are now dry shampoos that are meant for curly hair that don’t look like there’s white powder resting on your hair and don’t require a brush to use properly.  I really enjoyed trying this out.  I can see a ton of benefits to using it, but I’m not sure that I would have a lot of use for it myself.  This is something I might have in my cabinet, but one can would last me a year or two simply because I don’t use it much.  I loved that one of the bonuses of using this shampoo was the added volume.  I’m a sucker for super big hair.
  5. Marcelle Waterproof Eyeliner (Full size:  $11):  WOW.  My sample came in blue, and holy smokes was it blue!  This eyeliner packed a bright, colorful punch.  It was super easy to put on, and lasted all day.  My concern is that I just don’t know how to wear something this bright without looking like myself in high school when I started playing with make-up.  I really liked it, I just didn’t know how to utilize it.
  6. (NOT PICTURED) L. Erickson Barrow Grab & Go Ponytail Holder (Full size:  $12):  Also this month I got a ponytail holder.  While it is not discreet since it’s kind of bulky, it makes up for that with a firm, but not overly tight grip.  My ponytail stayed put all day, even as my thick hair and gravity tried to fight it.  It also doesn’t pull my hair when I take it out.  I don’t need a discreet ponytail holder, so this was actually perfect for me.  I would totally buy this.

Overall, I walked away with zero products I want RIGHT NOW. There’s the sunscreen that I’ll most likely eventually buy, and the dry shampoo that I don’t have a lot of need for now (though I could see my life changing and that shampoo being a much larger part of my needs).  Finally there was a hair tie I loved.  That’s it.  Everything else I wasn’t super excited about (though I will take any tutorial videos on wearing that blue eyeliner).  But, again, for $10 a month, it was super fun to try out all of these items.  Even when I have a box of things I’m not in love with, I still have fun trying them all out.  Think you’d like to try Birchbox?  Here’s my referral link.

Finally, I wanted to say that Birchbox has some AMAZING customer service.  I realized last month that I didn’t get my sample choice email, so I put in a help request asking what was up.  Birchbox has kept me informed while they work on why I didn’t get it, even if their email just says “still working on it” so I don’t go too long without information.  When July’s sample choice came and still no email, they gave me a call and did my choice over the phone.  A+ customer service.

IMG_2769

2 thoughts on “June Birchbox

Leave a Reply

