Sun Dried Tomato Chicken and Pasta

Time for another recipe that makes me feel fancy!  I should do this more often.  Sun dried tomatoes is something I’ve had in a restaurant, but never actually cooked with myself.  I also wasn’t sure that I would find it when I went grocery shopping, but, luckily, I did.  I got, literally, the only jar on the shelf.   The question is, though, was it worth it?  For this recipe you will need:

  • Sun dried tomatoes
  • Chicken
  • Half and Half
  • Penne pasta
  • Mozzarella

Check out the full recipe here, or my pin on my Yum board.

Sun Dried Tomato and Chicken Pasta

Review

This recipe is almost a one pan deal.  But it’s not.  You still need to boil your noodles because they will not be cooking in the pan with everything else.  There just isn’t enough liquid for that to work.  So you need to boil the noodles, but everything else is done in one pan, which was nice.  I thought that something this “fancy” might require using everything in my kitchen.  One thing I did wrong but didn’t realize until the end was add too much tomato.  The recipe called for a “small jar,” which is what I thought I purchased.  Later I realized that it gave a size for that jar: 3-4 oz.  My jar was 8 oz.  So, unwittingly, I added double the tomato.  I don’t think this is a huge issue, but it might account for my main problem with this dish.

What is my main problem?  The oil from the tomatoes never really settled into the recipe.  It didn’t mix.  When I scooped it into bowls, the oil settled on top of the sauce, which wasn’t a great look.  Looks aside, though, this was a pretty tasty dish.  It was rich with lots of great tomato taste.  Would I make this again?  Probably not, but that’s more of a personal preference thing.  I enjoyed it, but it wasn’t something I would put into a regular rotation.  I’m glad I tried it out.  It really makes me want to try and make something else with sun dried tomatoes now.  Muffins maybe?

Leave a Reply

