Sausage Stuffed Shells in Butternut Squash Sauce

Some days I don’t want quick or simple when I cook.  Instead I want interesting flavors and wow.  When I saw this stuffed shell recipe that used butternut squash as the basis for a sauce, I was sold.  It had an interesting flavor combination and the pictures were stunning.  I had to try it!  For this recipe you will need:

  • Butternut squash
  • Onion
  • Vegetable broth
  • Milk
  • Sausage
  • Ricotta Cheese
  • Shells

Check out the full recipe here, or my pin on my Yum board.

Sausage Stuffed Shells in Butternut Squash Sauce

Review

This recipe is not quick, so make sure you read the whole thing and are prepared for that.  The squash and onions need to roast for an hour before you can puree them to make the sauce.  Now, on the plus side, you can literally cook everything else while this is happening.  However, everything else doesn’t take an hour, so you’ll still be waiting.  However, you could absolutely do the roasting over the weekend (or whenever you have time), and make the sauce ahead so it’s ready to go when you’re ready to use it.  (Once everything is roasted, the rest of the sauce process took me about 10 minutes.)  One thing that I noticed was that my sauce was super thick, like spoonable thick.  I’m not sure if that’s how it was intended to be, but mine was.  Adding more broth and milk could help thin it out if that’s a problem for you.  Also, I used my Vitamix to make the sauce and it worked like a charm.  Just make sure to put in all the liquid at the beginning since it’s so thick.  Don’t wait on adding the milk.

As for the rest of the process, it was a simple matter of cooking sausage and mixing it in with the ricotta cheese.  When it came time to stuff the shells, the thick sauce was pretty helpful.  I placed the shell into the sauce which held it in place, and then I spooned the filling into them.  I ended up making the full batch, but only half the shells.  The rest of the filling and sauce are in my refrigerator to use this week.

The flavors were GREAT.  I loved the combination of butternut squash with the sausage.  It made for a nice mix of just a little sweet with just a bit spicy.  While this recipe takes time to complete, it is absolutely worth it.  It would be a great dish to make for company because it looks great in the dish and has a fun flavor set.  I absolutely recommend trying this recipe out!

Leave a Reply

