Coconut Chicken with Mango Salsa

Dried coconut is one of those things that I know I don’t like.  I’ve known this since I was young.  But, do I actually know this?  There are a lot of foods that I didn’t like when I was young that I’ve changed my mind about.  When I saw this recipe, it just seemed so tropical and tasty that I decided it was time to test that dislike.  For this recipe you will need:

  • Chicken
  • Coconut
  • Mango
  • Jalapeno
  • Red Onion
  • Cilantro
  • Flour
  • Egg

Check out the full recipe here, or my pin on my Yum board.

Coconut Chicken with Mango Salsa

Review

This recipe was pretty straight forward:  chop everything for the salsa and throw it in a bowl; coat the chicken in flour, eggs, and coconut and cook.  There were no difficult techniques of confusing directions.  One thing I did that the directions didn’t mention is wear gloves during the prep.  I didn’t want hot pepper juice on my hands, and I’m one of those people that is allergic to mango skin (something I learned one very confusing night when I lived in Hawaii).  So, make sure that, if needed, you take precautions while preparing this meal.

The final result was, in my opinion, pretty tasty, but something I would spend some time modifying to better suit my own tastes.  I’d probably add a little spice to the chicken to give it more flavor.  I would also put more lime juice on the salsa.  However, I won’t be making these changes because the husband really didn’t like this recipe.  Like me, he is not a dried coconut fan.  The only difference here is that I learned I can tolerate (and maybe even enjoy) it in some instances, but he is still a big fat “no” on it.  Do I recommend this recipe?  I do, but not if you aren’t a dried coconut fan.

Leave a Reply

