Lemon Lava Cake

I’ve made chocolate lava cake before, but, for some reason, that’s a fall/winter dessert in my mind.  Then I saw this lemon lava cake and I thought that felt like a perfect summer dessert.  Plus, the center is made of lemon curd, and I’ve been itching to make some again.  For this recipe you will need:

  • Lemons
  • Sugar
  • Butter
  • Eggs
  • Flour

Get the full recipe here, or check out my pin on my Just Desserts board.

Lemon Lava Cake

Review

Lemon curd isn’t hard to make, but it does take patience.  You have to make sure the temperature isn’t took hot and constantly whisk until the curd starts to thicken.  There is no way to speed up that process.  But it is so worth it.  I loved that this recipe made just a small bit of lemon curd because sometimes there is so much I don’t know what to do with it.  One thing this recipe didn’t mention that I like to do when making lemon curd is to strain it before you put it into the refrigerator to cool.  This helps separate out any bits of egg (usually the whites) that didn’t incorporate properly and, instead, scrambled a bit.

The cake batter was surprisingly sticky.  I expected something a little more liquid than dough.  That just means the batter won’t really spread when you put it in the ramekins.  I used my fingers to spread it out.  I used the method where you spoon some batter, spoon some curd, then cover with more batter.  I don’t have a piping bag, so this next tip is just for the spooning method.  Make sure that you make a seal with the batter to keep the lemon curd in the middle.  If you don’t, some will seep out the edges and will ooze out the sides when you pull it out of the oven.  You need it to be neatly tucked in the middle to get that perfect “lava” effect when you first cut into it.

Overall, this was a fun summer dessert.  The tartness of the curd with the sweetness of the cake was a perfect combination.  You can make the curd ahead of time, and just have to make the batter whenever you’re ready or this treat.  I will absolutely be making this again.  In fact, I already did!

 

There’s still time to enter my giveaway!

Leave a Reply

