Crock Pot Pineapple Chicken

Slow cooker recipes (especially dump and done ones) are perfect for nights when I know I”ll be busy and won’t have time to actually cook.  They’re also perfect for days when I simply don’t want to cook.  Pineapple is one o my favorite fruits, so trying this one out was an easy choice.  (Almost as easy as making it!)  You will need:

  • Chicken
  • Salsa
  • Black Beans
  • Corn
  • Pineapple
  • Brown Sugar

Get the full recipe here, or check out my pin on my Yum board.

Crock Pot Pineapple Chicken

Review

One of the ingredients for this recipe it hot wing sauce and I simply couldn’t bring myself to buy it.  The amount that was being added to the slow cooker was so tiny, and I knew I wouldn’t use the sauce again, especially if I turned out to not love this recipe.  Instead, I bought the hot salsa and added more than the recipe stated.  So, when I say that I found this recipe overly sweet, know that this modification definitely contributed.  However, I find it hard to believe that a tablespoon of wing sauce was going to change it that much.  I think the real culprit here was the brown sugar.  I think the recipe would have been better without it.

Overall, I liked the idea of the recipe, but the final product wasn’t for me.  It was too sweet, and I actually wanted more pineapple.  If I were to try this again (and I’m not sure if I will). I will cut out the brown sugar, add another can of pineapple, and buy the super hot salsa.  This one wasn’t my winner, but it might be yours, especially if wing sauce is something you would use outside of this recipe.

Leave a Reply

