Strawberry Cheesecake French Toast

I’m trying out French toast recipes again, always looking for that perfect at home diner breakfast.  Today’s contender adds strawberries and cream cheese to the mix in an effort to woo me.  For this recipe you will need:

  • Eggs
  • Bread
  • Cream Cheese
  • Strawberries
  • Milk
  • Vanilla

You can see the full recipe here, or check out my pin on my Breakfast board.

Strawberry Cheesecake French Toast

Review

This one had so much potential and it just….didn’t work.  Let’s look at what went wrong.  Once again, my grocery store did not have thick cut bread, so I decided to make sandwiches instead of pockets.  I really don’t think this contributed to my disappointment because the real let down was the cream cheese filling itself.  The problem with this filling is that it is not a cheesecake filling.  If it was, there would have been a little bit of sugar thrown into it.  Without that sugar, it’s just strawberry cream cheese.  I think that if the filling had been sweeter I wouldn’t have needed syrup at all.  Unfortunately, that didn’t happen.  Instead I ended up feeling like syrup was necessary to cut down on the overly cream cheese taste.

Will I make this again?  Maybe.  It has potential if the filling is tweaked.  But I think I might wait until we get that thick bread to try another French toast recipe period.  (Who am I kidding?  I’ll be making some for lunch today.)

Leave a Reply

