Lemon Cupcakes with Blackberry Buttercream

This week has been kind of ridiculous, so I think the best way to close it up is with a sweet something to send you off to your weekend.  Lemon + (other fruit) is a combo I can’t get enough of, so these lemon cupcakes with blackberry buttercream went straight onto my “to bake” list when I saw them.  You will need:

  • Flour
  • Eggs
  • Butter
  • Lemon
  • Blackberries
  • Sugar
  • Milk

Check out the full recipe here, or my pin on my Just Desserts board.

 Lemon Cupcakes with Blackberry Icing

Review

As always, changes were made.  This time I did NOT change out the flour to whole wheat (shocking, I know!), but I did make some other changes.  I use vanilla Greek yogurt instead of sour cream, and soy milk instead of regular milk.  I also had a problem with the sugar, which I’ll discuss later.

When I mixed up the cake batter, I was a little worried.  The wet mixture seemed like an odd combination, and when I added it to everything else, I was worried by the somewhat lumpy texture.  However, my fears were unfounded.  This was seriously one of the best cake batters I’ve ever had.  It kept a soft yellow color, and was light and spongy.  I will DEFINITELY be using this batter as a base for other recipes down the road.  The flavor was spot on too.  Just the right amount of lemon!

The buttercream, though.  Hoooooo boy.  And it’s all my fault.  I’m certain that the actual recipe is lovely. This is all on me.  Here’s what happened:

Me (at the grocery store):  Oh look!  Pourable powdered sugar!  So cool!  (I put this in my cart.)

Me (at home, adding sugar to my icing):  Huh, this looks kinda grainy.  Strange.  (Keeps adding and mixing.)

Me (mixing icing):  This really is gritty.  Maybe I should write a letter to the company.

Me (reading the sugar box):  Granulated sugar? Awwwwwww, no!

So, my buttercream turned out, well, not right.  I had already halved the recipe (even though I made a full batch of cupcakes) because I don’t like a ton of icing on my cake.  So, I decided to double the cream cheese in the batter to see if that helped with the overall gritty feel and overly sugary taste.  And, it did, but not as much as I would have liked.  The blackberry puree worked perfectly though!  That flavoring was spot on.  So, my icing wasn’t great, but that was my fault-not the recipe.

Will I make these again?  Absolutely!  I can’t wait to try this batter out with other flavors!

Leave a Reply

