April Birchbox Review

When April’ box came I couldn’t stop looking at the box!  It was gorgeous!  So much so, I had to include a picture of it too this month!  The box was designed by Rifle Paper Co, which has some truly lovely items.  Enough about the packaging, let’s talk products!

April Birchbox

  1. Cargo Swimmables Water Resistant Blush (Full Size:  $26):  My skin is naturally pretty pink, so blush isn’t something I normally wear.  However, when I am doing something more formal (like going to a wedding or an interview), I usually will put on blush.  This blush came in a color that was perfect for my skin tone.  The first time I put it on, it went on nice and light, which is important to me because I don’t need a lot to get the right amount of pink on my cheek.  The second time I might have been a little heavy handed.  However, it was easy to blend and remove a touch to make it right.  As for the waterproof aspect, well, I didn’t go swimming while wearing it, but I did splash my face with water to see what would happen, and it appeared to stay in place.  It did mostly wear off by the end of the day, though.  Would I buy this?  Maybe.  It’s hard for me to find blushes that are the right color for me, and this one was.  It would be a contender.  (But I sort of hope I get some other samples just to see if there’s something I like more.
  2. LAQA &Co Sheer Lip Lube Pencil (Full Size  $20):  I really liked the concept of this pencil.  It was very smooth, and super easy to apply.  You could put on just a touch or layer it for a more vibrant color.  However, the color was all wrong for my face.  I tried it several times (thinking that different outfits or different types of light might affect the color).  No matter how I wore it, though, it was never right on me.  That said, eventually I layered it with the Cynthia Rowley lip stain I got a box or two ago, and that was a nice combination.  Bottom line?  I loved the product, hated the color.  I might consider this in a different shade.
  3. Whish Three Whishes Body Butter-Blueberry (Full Size:  $24):  On one hand, this product is super thick.  I’ve had Whish products in my box before and thought that they were great at hydrating.  However, the smell just doesn’t work for me AT ALL.  It smelled like blueberry candy-overly sugary and too sweet.  I made the mistake of using it on my legs after one shower, and got sick of it very quickly.  After than I used it once or twice in moderation so as not to be overwhelmed by the smell.  I just couldn’t get past that fragrance, though.  12 year old me would have loved this.  32 year old me?  Not so much.
  4. Beaver Professional Hydro Nutritive Moisturizing Shampoo and Repairing Conditioner (Full size:  $15/$16):  I’m reviewing these last two together because that’s how I used them.  I’ve gotten shampoo samples before, but never had a set.  I rather like that there was a set because I like to use products with their counterparts when possible.  I was able to get 3 washes out of the conditioner before I ran out, but 6 of from the shampoo, so I was able to try the shampoo solo as well.   (The samples were the same size, but I just need more conditioner for my hair.)  I felt like they did what they promised-my hair felt softer and healthier.  I have coarse, curly hair that tends to be dry, and both of these worked hard to help with that.  However, I need some other product to put on after the shower if I decide to switch to this shampoo/conditioner combo because it didn’t really work with my current product routine.  While soft, my curls didn’t define as well and ended up looking frizzy.  I probably wouldn’t purchase these unless I found that other product that would work with them (though I do like the idea of finding that other product).

All in all, another great month with my box.  As always, I love playing with new products and learning what I do and don’t love.  I’m getting kind of close to running out of my face wash, so I’m hoping to find something new to give a go in an upcoming box.

Does Birchbox sound like something you’re interested in?  Here’s my referral link.

Leave a Reply

