Maple Mustard Salmon

My low-cholesterol salmon search continues!  I will not rest until I can eat salmon for two weeks straight and not repeat a recipe.  Today is yet another in that search.  For this you will need:

  • Salmon
  • Dijon Mustard
  • Yellow Mustard
  • Maple Syrup

Seems pretty obvious, doesn’t it?  Check out the full recipe here, or my pin on my Yum board.

Maple Mustard Salmon

Review

These pictures don’t look pretty.  Apparently the mustard really didn’t photograph well in the early evening light.  Oh well.  It kind of fits because this recipe didn’t totally work for me.  Part of what didn’t work for me was absolutely my fault.  Even though the recipe says it serves three and I made three fillets, there was way too much sauce.  I used all of it.  I should have known better.  I should have used a little common sense and realized that once it was brushed on, I didn’t need to continue and down the fish.  The other thing that didn’t work for me was the mustard/maple ratio.  I feel like it would have been better to take out one tablespoon of mustard and exchange it for another tablespoon of maple syrup.  Maybe that’s just because I like sweet things, but I thought the balances was, well, off.

Will I make this again?  Maybe.  I might give it another try with the modified ratio and an attempt at not drowning the fish.  But, I’d probably only make it because I didn’t have any other ingredients on hand and wanted salmon for dinner.

Leave a Reply

