Overnight French Toast

Really good French toast is a favorite breakfast of mine.  Mediocre French toast?  Not so much.  However, that never stops me from trying out all the French toast recipes I come across.  For this recipe you will need:

  • Bread
  • Eggs
  • Butter
  • Brown Sugar
  • Milk

Find the full recipe here, or check out my pin on my Breakfast board.

Overnight French Toast

Review

As always, I had to change things.  I used regular bread because there was no Texas toast at the store, and I used soy milk instead of regular.  And, since it’s just two of us, I halved the recipe.  I was really worried that the change in bread thickness would mean that my French toast would be soggy. I was surprised to find that was not the case.  Honestly, this makes me think that using the thicker bread would mean a drier result.  I also found that the layer of sugar and butter at the bottom meant that there was only that sweetness if your bite included some of the bottom.

Overall I was not impressed by this recipe.  You prepare it the night before, but it needs to bake for 45 minutes in the morning, which felt like a long time to me.  I had to do it on a weekend because we wouldn’t have been able to eat it otherwise.  I also felt like the flavors weren’t well dispersed.  Basically. my husband and I looked at each other and agreed-this was a one and done recipe for us.

Back to looking for French toast recipes.

Leave a Reply

