Zucchini Lime Bread

The other day I bought a zucchini for a recipe that I later looked at and thought, “what was I thinking?!”  Other recipe scrapped, I had a use for all the other items…except the zucchini.  Eventually I realized that I’ve never had zucchini bread before, and I had a shiny new loaf pan.  Problem solved!  You will need:

  • Zucchini
  • Flour
  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Limes

Check out the full recipe here, or my pin on my Yum Board.

zucchini lime bread

Review

As per usual, I changed things.  I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose, limes instead of lemons, and soy milk instead of buttermilk.  You know, my usual substitutes.  (I still have yet to see buttermilk in my dairy case.  How weird is that?  Maybe it sells out right away, and I just miss it?)  I had the limes left over from a second batch of my key lime tarts, and, besides, I love the flavor of limes.  So, obviously, my results are based on those changes.  Your mileage may vary.

Overall, this recipe was a snap to follow!  Super easy and straightforward.  No strange or tricky techniques.  When I read that I would need to pat the zucchini dry after I grated it, I thought that was odd, but once I had a wet pile of zucchini, I was all over it.  I grated waaaay too much, but I really had no idea how much 1 cup of zucchini was.  (Hint:  depending on the size of your zucchini, around half of one.)

I loved the citrus flavor, which felt like the perfect balance in both the bread and the glaze.  However, the bread needed that glaze to reach its full potential, so don’t skip that part!  Will I make this again?  If I have more zucchini in my house, sure.  But I’m not necessarily going to go out of my way to have zucchini in my house again.  Unless, that is, you have an awesome idea for how I could use it (besides bread).

Leave a comment