Lemon Ricotta Poppyseed Waffles

Last weekend I was looking for something to make for breakfast that would also use a few of the “leftover” items in my refrigerator.  You know the ones-I needed to buy enough lemons to get half a cup of juice, but bought one too many-items.  So, when I came across this recipe, I knew it would be perfect for taking care of a few of those items.  For this recipe you will need:

  • Flour
  • Eggs
  • Ricotta cheese
  • Lemon
  • Sugar

For the full recipe click here, or check out my pin on my Breakfast board.

lemon poppyseed ricotta waffles

Review

This recipe was simple and easy to follow.  I had no problems with directions or ingredients.  However, simple and easy to follow doesn’t always mean delicious.  These waffles actually didn’t taste any different than my normal recipe.  I was hoping for a stronger lemon flavor than I got, as well as an overall smoother texture.  I was disappointed in the overall (lack of distinct) flavor.

However, that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t make this recipe again.  I think it has the potential to work if I kicked up the lemon some more.  I really wanted to get some tang from the lemon.  Conversely, I could make my regular waffle mix, but dollop on some lemon curd.  Actually, that sounds super tasty.  BRB, making lemon curd!

Leave a Reply

