Cleaning Pyrex with Foil

Back when I got married, one of the items that we didn’t register for but got was a set of two Pyrex pans.  This turned out to be one of those gifts that you’re so happy someone else realized you should have.  However, over the years (7), they just seem to get dirtier and dirtier, no matter how much I clean them.  I really hate pulling them out of the cabinet, completely clean, to look like they need to go straight back in the sink to be washed.  Pinterest to the rescue!  For this cleaning project you will need:

  • Foil
  • Dishsoap
  • Your pan

Check out the (incredibly obvious) details here, or my pin on my Clean It Up board.

pyrex and foil

Review

I’ll be honest, the first time I saw a pin claiming I could scrub a pan with foil and get better results than I currently was having, I figured it must be one of those things that moms told you, but there was a better way now.  But then I saw it over and over again.  I was finally tempted when I saw it on the Real Simple list.  I figured, “It’s foil and soap, two things I already have.  Why not try it?”  So I did.

And…..it kind of works.  I don’t know if I should have tried it sooner, or if I need to just go at it again, but I feel like I had higher expectations than it could deliver.  To be fair, it did clean, and decently at that.  However, I scrubbed for probably 10-15 minutes and it didn’t remove everything like I was imagining.  The directions just say to ball up the foil and go to town, so I’m wondering how you know that it’s time to make a new foil ball.  Maybe that was my problem?

I will say, because it was foil, I could fold the ball in “half” like I might do to a sheet of sandpaper, so I could get both sides of the handle at once.  That was nice.  Also, I hate cleaning clear/glass things because I am constantly playing a game of “which side is that on?”

Overall, it did work.  Nowhere did it profess to me that this would clean everything and it would sparkle like some animals from a Disney movie had cleaned it, so my expectations might have been out of line with reality.  Will I do this again?  Probably.  It DID get rid of a decent number of stains, and I’m not willing to give up on this just yet.

Leave a Reply

