Brown Bag Popcorn

I love popcorn.  It’s a must have any time I go to the movies.  I used to have a dedicated popper, but it got busted up a bit in the move, and it wasn’t really a priority for me to replace it.  So, when I saw that you can make popcorn in the microwave with a brown paper bag, I was intrigued.  I had to try it out!  You will need:

  • Popcorn kernels
  • Oil
  • A brown paper bag

Check out the full directions here, or my pin on my Yum board.

paper bag popcorn

Review

So, this totally works and is an absolute snap to make.  I can’t use the popcorn preset on my microwave because I need about 10-15 seconds longer than that, but it really does work.  The main issue I had with this was that my microwave plate ends up oily because the oil soaks into and through the paper bag.  You also want to make sure that you find the right amount of time, otherwise you will have a lot of un-popped kernels at the end.

I’ve used this process several times now, and you can also add some spices into the bag before you put it in the microwave.  For example, the other day I wanted a spicy kick, so I threw some Cayenne pepper into the bag and shook it up.  The result was definitely a bite to my snack.

Bottom line?  This is simple, it works, and it is cost effective.  Play around a bit in order to get the best results for you.

Leave a Reply

