Guinness Truffles

On the same day that I made the key lime tarts, I also went for these Guinness truffles. I was in a dessert zone, so I went ahead and made both (partially because I wanted to make sure I got to the truffles before we drank all the Guinness).  For this you will need:

  • Guinness
  • Semi-sweet chocolate
  • Butter
  • Pretzels

Check out the full recipe here,or my pin on my Just Desserts board.

guinness truffles

Review

I have made truffles before, so I was pretty confident that the process would be a simple one, and I was right.  Besides letting the mixture cool in the refrigerator, the longest part was waiting for the Guinness to reduce.  Mine took FOREVER, but your mileage may vary.  This recipe is simple, straightforward, and requires few ingredients and will make approximately 16 truffles.  However, I wish I had made mine smaller, because I simply couldn’t eat an entire truffle because it was so rich. If you did smaller truffles, I could easily see this recipe making 2-3 dozen depending on how small you went.

The flavor is good, but not quite what I was hoping for.  I thought that I could taste the Guinness right at the end of the flavor, but my husband disagreed.  He thought that he could taste bitterness at the end, but that it wasn’t necessarily the Guinness itself.  It might just be the small bite of the semi-sweet chocolate.  That tends to be a problem for me with Guinness flavored things-it’s just so hard to get that taste.  I once made Guinness cheesecake and we didn’t really taste it there either.

For me this was a bust.  The truffles were so rich that their size made them difficult for me to finish, the Guinness flavor was more of a whisper, and you absolutely should NOT roll them in the exterior pretzels until right before serving.  Those pretzel chunks definitely lost their crunch.  I’m not saying this is a bad recipe by any means, it’s just not what I was hoping it would be.

Leave a Reply

