A Crafting “Now What?”

Sometimes I see a picture online and I wonder to myself if I can recreate whatever it is that I am seeing.  And that’s what led me to try and make this deer head.  (This isn’t the image I saw, this is the one I made.)

deer

Basically, I traced a deer head onto vellum (I didn’t have any tracing paper).  Then, I cut some colorful magazine pages into strips and glued them onto the vellum, going well over the lines so I would have complete coverage.  Then I flipped the paper over and used the original tracing lines to cut out the deer head.  Once it was cut, I “sealed” it with modge podge.  And then…..what?  No, really, what was there to do?  I loved how it looked, but I had nothing to do with it.  The process was fun, but I had no use for the final product.

Eventually I decided to put it on a canvas that I had painted to look like wood, but that didn’t really work out for me.  Turns out, the vellum I had refused to stick to anything with any of the adhesives I had.  I have stronger stuff now that I think would work, but it literally peeled off the canvas the three times I tried to glue it down.

So, do you have any projects that you have started and didn’t know what to do with them when you finished?  Do you have any suggestions for those of us that have finished projects but nothing to do with them?  I’d love to hear your ideas!

Leave a Reply

