Homemade Granola Bars

Now that the weather is more Spring-like, it’s time to get back to hiking. When hiking, it’s important to bring food and water, and granola can be a nice option.  So, when I saw this recipe for homemade granola bars, I saved it for warmer weather that finally came.  For this recipe you will need:

  • Oats
  • Honey
  • Brown Sugar
  • Nuts

Check out the full recipe here, or my pin on my Yum board.

granola bars

Review

As usual, I halved the recipe.  This was partially because I was just testing, partially because there are only two of us, and largely because I didn’t have 7 cups of oats.  And, let me say, I am glad I halved it because even 3.5 cups of oats is still a lot of oats.

This recipe was fraught with little problems I didn’t expect.  First, I don’t own a rimmed baking sheet, so I “made” a rim by rolling up the foil I used to line it.  However, in order to do that, I needed to use two pieces of foil, which created a seam that the oats loved to slide under.  Also, I broke my rim when I poured the toasted oats back into the bowl to mix with the honey sugar mixture, and so I had to remake it.  Of course, none of this is the recipe’s fault, but it did cause problems for me.

In the end I found the result just okay.  However, I have a sneaking suspicion that my oats were starting to go stale, so this could be entirely my fault.  I think I would have liked them better with some more “stuff” in them.  Maybe some additional nuts or some dried cranberries.  Also, I might not have halved the sugar/honey mix totally right because some of the bars fell apart.  I think that would be due to not enough sticking agent.

Will I make this again?  Maybe.  However, I have since found another granola bar recipe, so I will probably give that one a try first.  This one isn’t bad by any means, but I like trying out new things.

Leave a Reply

