Honey Wheat Bread

The other day I was cooking something that required flour, and I looked at my bag and noticed a bread recipe.  I buy honey wheat bread at the store as it is, so I thought I would give this a try to see if I could stop purchasing and start making.  I’ll provide the full recipe here, since it was on the flour bag and there’s no link.  (All credit for this recipe goes to Hungarian whole Wheat Flour.)  You will need:

  • 1 packed active dry yeast
  • 2 cups warm water
  • 1/3 cup honey or dark molasses
  • 2 Tablespoons soft shortening
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 5.5-6 cups flour

Here are the directions.

  1. In mixing bowl, place in order given all ingredients except for flour.
  2. Add flour gradually to make a stiff dough.
  3. Knead on well floured surface until smooth and satiny, 8-10 minutes.
  4. Place in greased bowl.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled; 1.5-2 hours.
  5. Divide in half and shape into balls.
  6. Cover with bowl and let rest for 15 minutes.
  7. Shape into loaves.
  8. Place in well greased 9×5 or 8×4 inch pans.
  9. Cover and let rise until light and doubled, about 1 hour.
  10. Bake at 375 for 30-35 minutes, or until deep golden brown.

honey wheat bread

Review

First of all, I halved this recipe because, even if it was perfect for us, we could never eat two loaves before they went bad.  The recipe was easy enough to follow, though I was surprised that we didn’t let the yeast do it’s thing with water and honey before adding the shortening, salt, and flour.  Other than the halving, I did everything the recipe said and had each of the ingredients.  I made no substitutes.  I must say, I was disappointed at the size of my loaf.  I did not get a full size loaf, but rather something that was more like half size.  The recipe does state that using all wheat flour will result in a denser loaf than dough that is made from part wheat part all purpose, so maybe that was a factor.

I will make this again, but I think I might make the full recipe and only mold it into one loaf to see if I get a better size.  Maybe I should also play with the yeast a bit to help create a larger loaf.  Overall, the taste was good and the recipe simple, but, as is, it would not replace my grocery store buy.

Leave a Reply

