Egg Roll Salad

The first thing I have to do is apologize for missing my Friday post.  Things got a little crazy here.  We came home from a trip midweek, only to find out one of our dogs had bitten the other and needed stitches and a drain.  It was a lot of running around (especially since our kennel and vet are an hour away from us), so things got a bit messy and I never got to that Friday post.  I’m sorry.  But, if you’re looking for comfort food, you can’t go wrong with today’s recipe.  It certainly made a crazy week a little easier to deal with.  You will need:

  • Ground sausage
  • Onion
  • Pea and Carrot mix
  • Cabbage

Check out the full recipe here, or my pin on my Yum board.

Egg Roll Salad

Review

The first thing that struck me about this recipe was just how much cabbage was in it.  I decided to take it slow and only add a little bit at a time.  However, it soon became clear to me that you really did need all of it!  In fact, this recipe was too salty for me without the cabbage to help cut the salty flavor down.  I would, though, keep a little bit separate an add it at the very end to keep that touch of crunch to the dish.

I, of course, love a one pot meal, so this was a winner on that front.  Everything about this was simple and straight forward.  The flavor was good, but it also made me realize that the fried wrapper is just as much of the taste I love as the inside.  Will I make this again?  Yes.  We don’t have any good Chinese takeout here, so this is definitely an option for any time my egg roll craving gets to be overwhelming.

Leave a Reply

