Monkey Bread

Monkey bread is one of those things that I didn’t hear about until I was out of college.  It just wasn’t one of those recipes that my family made.  However, since then, I have learned that it is a holiday tradition for many.  It sounded delicious, so I decided I had to try it out, audition it if you will, to see if it was worth adding to my holidays.  You will need:

  • Biscuits
  • Brown Sugar
  • Butter
  • Cook and Serve Pudding Mix

Check out the full recipe here, or my pin on my Breakfast board.

Monkey Bread

Review

I don’t own a bundt pan, or, at least I didn’t.  So, when I made these I thought it would be fun to try and make them in individual cupcake tins.  I also couldn’t find the biscuits mentioned in the recipe, so I just used a tube of Grands.  All this probably meshed together into my downfall.

You see, this was a disaster.  Parts of the biscuits didn’t cook all the way while other parts cooked too much.  The brown sugar/butter sauce didn’t coat well in this setting either, so what was salvageable wasn’t always tasty.  Some parts were super sugary while other parts were just plain biscuit.

However, after I mentioned this to my mother-in-law, she bought me a bundt pan ans a little surprise, so I pulled it out to try again.  I will say that I had a lot more success with the proper pan, but that I still had some of the “not fully cooked” issue with the biscuits.  There were still some that were gooey.  I threw it all back in the oven when I realized what happened, to some success.  I still couldn’t get it to come out of the pan in the beautiful ring that the original recipe showed, but it did taste good.

Will I try this recipe again?  Maybe.  I think if I do, I will try a different type of biscuit to see if I can get better results.  However, I think it will be several months before I try this again.  I’d much rather give something new a chance before I come back to this.

Leave a Reply

