Burp Cloths

As I mentioned previously, my niece recently had a baby.  As part of her gift, I made her some baby bibs.  The other part of her gift was burp cloths (coordinated with the bibs of course).  Burp cloths are one of the easiest sewing projects I have ever done.  For them you will need:

  • Soft fabric (I used baby fleece, but terrycloth is another good option)
  • Coordinating thread
  • A sewing machine

Check out the sewing instructions here, or my pin on my Crafts as Gifts board.

Burp Cloths

Review

Burp cloths are a simple and quick project.  I decided to add a little extra interest to mine by adding the stripe in the center of the patterned side.  I also added the iron on appliques, just like I did with the bibs.  In fact, I used the same shapes on the burp cloths as I did with the bibs.

I ended up making a set of four burp cloths, and the entire process took around an hour.  I did it assembly style.  I cut all pieces for all the cloths as once.  I sewed all the stripes together.  I sewed front to back, etc.  This made the entire process very efficient.

I will absolutely make these in the future.  They are quick, simple, and easily to customize.  Besides, my understanding is that one can never have too many burp cloths as they are constantly used and abused.

Leave a Reply

