Pumpkin Waffles

Pumpkin is often relegated to fall.  We drink pumpkin spice lattes and eat pumpkin pie, and generally go pumpkin crazy.  However, you can buy canned pumpkin year round, and it is one of my favorite flavors to cook with.  When I came across this recipe back in the fall, I decided to save it for later when I was missing fall and all her beautiful flavors.  You will need:

  • Flour
  • Brown Sugar
  • Pumpkin Puree
  • Milk

For the full recipe go here, or see my pin on my Breakfast board.

Pumpkin Waffles

Review

Have I mentioned I love pumpkin?  These were some tasty waffles!  Since pumpkin is no longer in season, finding pumpkin pie spice was nearly impossible.  (My store didn’t even carry it during the height of pumpkin season.)  So, I improvised with some cinnamon and nutmeg, a dash of all spice too.  I know the overall flavor would have been better with the real deal, but we make do.

This was a perfect breakfast to remind me of the perfect autumn we just had.  Plus, it was nice enough here that we could go hiking later in the day, so these waffles were just the start to a wonderful weekend.  Don’t let anyone tell you that pumpkin is a fall flavor! You can enjoy it any time of year!

Leave a Reply

