Caramel Frappuccino

I love coffee and am a real sucker for a good flavored coffee.  It’s probably best that there’s no where to get a coffee like that in town.  I’ve done lots of experiments with my own coffee syrups, but once you make those you start to realize just how much sugar is in them.  So, I’ve started to drink my coffee black and save flavored coffee for special occasions.  However, when I came across this skinny caramel frappuccino recipe, I knew I had to try it!  You will need:

  • Coffee (cold)
  • Ice cubes
  • Milk
  • Caramel Sauce

Check out the full recipe here, or my pin on my Drinks on Me board.

caramel frappuccino

Review

When I went to make this, I noticed that I only had about a cup worth of ice instead of three.  I only own one ice cube tray, and it only makes about two cups of ice, so I was never going to have 3 cups.  “No problem,” I thought to myself, “I’ll just add more coffee so there’s more liquid.”  I don’t think this was a bad idea, but it certainly didn’t end up with the slush mixture that it should have (which I knew).

That said, I still found this to just be okay.  Even though I had less ice than the recipe called for, it still tasted a bit watery to me.  That might have been because my coffee was still luke warm when I used it and it might have somewhat melted the few ice cubes I did have.  Also, my version is no where near as skinny as hers is.  She used almond milk, but I only have soy.  Turns out there is a HUGE calorie difference between the two.  According to the source, she’s only in for 15 calories over 24 ounces.  I, on the other hand, am in for 110 over just one cup.  I guess that means I need to start looking for almond milk because dang if that isn’t huge.  Because of this, she ends up with a 50 calorie frappuccino (which, I believe, is not accurately counted because you can’t just say 15 calories is basically the same as zero because it’s not), whereas I end up with 60 calories in just milk following the same recipe.

Will I make this again?  Maybe.  It didn’t wow me, but sometimes you’re desperate.  Besides, I think I owe it another chance with closer to the right amount of ice.

 

***UPDATE:  So, I wrote this post and saved it for a morning when I didn’t feel like writing.  Since then I have gone to the store to check out almond milk.  Now, I don’t have a fancy grocery store (I’ve written about how some days I can’t even buy normal items), but the lowest calorie almond milk I could find was 30 calories over 8 ounces.  Even when I looked online, I couldn’t find any almond milk (that told me the calories) that was under 30, so I don’t know where she gets her milk.  Furthermore, I’ve decided to stick with my soy for now because of all the nutrients that I get from it.  It might be more calories, but I am getting things for those calories, so I think it’s a worthwhile trade-off.***

Leave a Reply

