Black Bean Soup

Last week my husband and I went to a nice dinner out.  I ordered black bean soup as part of my meal, and it was delicious.  As you know, I love soup, and I love my Vitamix.  (Seriously, this blender is amazing!) So, as soon as I got home from dinner, I had to find a black bean soup recipe to try!  Here’s what you will need:

  • Vegetable broth
  • Black beans
  • Chickpeas
  • Onion
  • Bell peppers
  • Jalapeno

Check out the full recipe here, or my pin on my Yum board.

Black Bean Soup

Review

Black bean soup is one of those things I am slightly picky about.  It’s not that I won’t eat it if I don’t think it’s “perfect,” it’s just that I think it can be hard to get the right flavor combination.  That was the case with this recipe.  It wasn’t bad by any means, but it wasn’t “just right” either.

I liked the kick of the jalapeno, but I was also craving a bit more….something.  I ended up adding some paprika to the pot and that helped immensely.  I was originally drawn to this recipe because of the peppers and onions in it, but I felt like the red and yellow peppers got lost in everything else (and I even added more than the recipe called for).

Overall, this wasn’t a bad recipe, but it wasn’t the perfect black bean soup either.  However, it was a good start on the way to a better black bean soup, so I will probably make this again and continue trying to tweak it to make it just right.

Leave a Reply

