Crock Pot Mac and Cheese

I love to cook and try out new things, but sometimes I’m just not feeling it, or I’m not feeling making all the parts.  Enter my crock pot.  I love this thing.  I use it all the time, even if I wouldn’t mind cooking.  Mac and Cheese, as always, is a favorite (as seen here and here), so a crock pot version seemed like a way to be lazy and still get my mac and cheese.  You will need:

  • A slow cooker
  • Macaroni
  • Evaporated Milk
  • Cheese
  • Milk

Check out all the ingredients and the recipe here, or my pin on my Yum board.

crock pot mac and cheese

Review

The basic idea here is to dump it all in and forget about it.  There is nothing to prepare before your toss it all in, and I really appreciate that on days when I just don’t want to bother with cooking.  The first time I made this, it didn’t really thicken on me and was a bit “soupier” than what I normally like.  So, the second time I made it, I threw in some extra pasta.  Maybe 1/4 cup more.  This produced a consistency that I liked more.  I’ve also tried this recipe with other add ins like turkey sausage, mushrooms, and a bread crumb topping.  All of them turned out well!

So, would I make this again?  Obviously.  I’ve already made it 4 times!  It’s a great way to have a quick side dish, and it reheats well (though there are rarely leftovers).  I haven’t tried it, but I bet this would also make an excellent grilled mac and cheese!

Leave a Reply

