Fun Friday: A Little Bit of Madness

Happy Friday everyone!  I hope you’ve had a great week!  Out here we are looking at highs in the low 50s for this weekend, so I’m excited to get outside and enjoy this burst of nice weather!  Of course, I know not everyone is having gorgeous weather.  In fact, I just looked at the weather back in IN, and it is looking like a cold and wet weekend.

Whatever your weekend might look like, today I wanted to share with you something I do on one of my other blogs.  (Yes, I write way too many blogs.)  Over on My Book Club Hates Me, I review books I read.  I didn’t keep up as much last year as I should have, so this year I’ve started off a bit rusty.  I’m getting back into the swing of things, though.  Anyway, not only do I review books, but I also run a March Madness style bracket.  This bracket is populated with all those people we dream about dating in our heads.  You know, that character from your favorite book, or that super hot singer from that band.  Those people.  Let me explain in more detail:

Overview

The Boy/Girlfriend bracket is my answer to March Madness basketball brackets.  People nominate their dream boyfriends and girlfriends in a multitude of categories.  Nominees are then weeded (if necessary) and seeded.  Once that happens, printable brackets are created for people to fill out.  Winners of match-ups are determined by public votes in a given time frame.  All of this is in good fun.  There are no prizes or anything, it’s just a good time.

What’s New This Year

This is my second year doing the bracket, and I’ve learned a few things. This year I will run the match-ups for male and female concurrently.  You will be able to vote for both men and women at the same time instead of one bracket to completion followed by the other.  Based on survey results, the sexes will continue to be separate brackets.  The “regions” will also remain the same (TV, Movies, Literature, Celebrity) unless there is some sort of overwhelming write in option.

Also new will be a longer voting period.  Previously match-ups lasted less than 24 hours.  This time, the match-ups will be up for a longer (though not yet determined) amount of time.  Voting will be available for several days, but no longer than a week.  Again, this is TBD.  Voting will take place via polls on the site.

Timeline

  • Nominations:  Nominations will be open until February 12, 2015.  This is a Thursday.  Any nominations made after that time frame will be added to the 2016 list.
  • Weeding: Should weeding need to take place, this will happen between February 13-February 21, 2015.
  • Seeding:  If you are interested in being part of the seeding process, let me know.  Seeding will take place between February 22-February 28, 2015.
  • Brackets:  A finished bracket will be available on March 2, 2015.
  • Match-ups:  Match-ups will begin on Monday, March 16, 2015. Depending on seeding, this day may or may not include a “play in game.”

So, if you’re interested, I’ve added the nomination forms below so you don’t have to click away.  You can add as many names as you want.  Last year literature had exactly 16 nominees for each sex (with a mix of authors and characters), while movies had nearly 40 nominees that had to be cut down to 16.  Tough choices were made last year before voting even began!  So, I hope you will nominate early and often.  I might do one more post once the brackets are set, but really everything happens over on my other blog.  If this is something you think you’ll enjoy, be sure to head over there and bookmark or follow the blog.

Leave a Reply

