Caramel Pretzel Cookies

I love salt and sweet together.  It’s just a good combination.  And when that’s what you’re craving, you want it NOW.  I was having one of those “now” moments when I found this recipe.  I ran to the store and got straight on making a batch.  Here’s what you will need:

  • Flour
  • Eggs
  • Sugar
  • Caramel pieces
  • Pretzels

You can find the full ingredient list and recipe here, or check out my pin on my Just Desserts board.

caramel pretzel cookies

Review

Did I like this recipe?  Let me present the evidence:  I ate the entire batch in a three day period, I made a second batch, I ate all of those as well.

These cookies are SO GOOD.  Even using the whole wheat flour, I could not stop eating them.  They are the perfect combination of salty and sweet.  Plus, they are super easy to make!  Seriously, instead of reading the rest of this review, you should be on your way to the store to get the ingredients to make these cookies.

Here are some tips I picked up from making my second batch:  break the pretzel sticks into thirds or smaller for better incorporation into the batter (in the first, pictured batch I only broke them in half).  You do not need the chocolate chips.  I left them out of my first batch because I wasn’t feeling like chocolate (I know), but I did put chocolate chips in my second batch.  I kind of liked them more without, but your mileage may vary.  Finally, enjoy them with a nice cup of black coffee.  The bitterness of the coffee is a great pairing for the salty and sweet.

Seriously, why are you still reading?  Go make these cookies!

(If you made these cookies and the soft chocolate chip cookies and took them to a party, you would probably always be invited to every party ever.)

Leave a Reply

