Veggie Mac and Cheese

I love mac and cheese, but always knew it wasn’t the healthiest option for me.  So when I came across this recipe for a slightly healthier mac and cheese, I was all over it.  You will need:

  • Macaroni
  • Vegetables
  • Cheddar and Monterrey Jack Cheese
  • Milk

Check out the full recipe here, or my pin on my Yum board.

veggie mac and cheese

Review

I modified this recipe from the get-go to match my low-cholesterol lifestyle a little bit more.  So, for me, that meant whole grain pasta, a changing up of the veggies (partially because of what I had on hand), and using soy milk instead of the whole milk the recipe calls for.  I know that affected my cooking times and results, so I wanted to be clear about the modifications I made.

That said, this recipe came together fairly easily. I love anything that can be made in one pot, so that added to my love of this recipe.  Overall, I think this is a simple recipe to modify to suit your needs (like I did), and is a tasty take on a classic.

Will I make this again?  I already did!

One thought on “Veggie Mac and Cheese

  1. Pingback: Crock Pot Mac and Cheese | The Pinterest Wife

Leave a Reply

