Baby Bibs

Back in November, my niece had a baby shower, and just about two weeks ago, she finally had her sweet baby!  It’s crazy to know I am a great aunt (i’m only 32!), but I am beyond excited for her, and can’t wait until February when we will be visiting her and her family.  So today’s post is part of her shower gift:  bibs!  You will need:

  • 2 types of fabric
  • Coordinating thread
  • A sewing machine
  • Fusible web (optional)

Check out all the directions here, or my pin on my Crafts as Gifts board.

Baby Bibs

Review

At first I wasn’t sure about the size of the bibs when I printed out the template.  It just seemed so small.  And, I was going to make it smaller once I considered the seam allowances that would be used.  Though many of my friends have children, ever since I moved it has been a while since I’ve been around a baby.  I took it up with my husband; he’s a nurse and sees more babies than I do.  We decided the best course of action was to actually make a bib and see what we thought when it was done.  So I whipped up a bib and we agreed-this actually is appropriate for a young baby!

As for the project itself, it was super simple.  The directions were straightforward, and I never ran across anything that I didn’t understand.  I used lightweight fleece for my bibs and found that I could get several bibs from one piece of fabric.  I also decided to add a little extra touch to mine to make them a little more unique, so I used the fusible webbing to add the accent details to the front of each bib.

I wasn’t able to attend the shower (it involved a plane ride), but by all accounts, my niece liked my gift.  Her little boy is still a bit young to actually use the bibs, but I can ‘t wait to see the pictures once he is ready!

One thought on “Baby Bibs

  1. Pingback: Burp Cloths | The Pinterest Wife

Leave a Reply

