Peppermint Coffee Syrup and Latte

Obviously I love my coffee syrup and think it’s a great way to get into the seasonal spirit.  I’ve had some successes and some failures.  You can check out those syrups here, here, and here.  Since my gingerbread syrup was gone, it was time to jump into another favorite seasonal flavor:  peppermint!  For this recipe you will need:

  • Sugar
  • Water
  • Peppermint candies

You can check out the original recipe here, or my pin on my Drinks on Me board.

Peppermint Syrup

Review

I’ve used this set of recipes before with great success, so I felt good about this one.  It seemed so simple (as the others had been).  What I got, though, was a bit of a mess.

I knew to expect the pink color from the images on the original blog, but I didn’t expect the consistency I got.  It reminded me of the pink ooze from Ghostbusters 2.  I’m pretty sure that if it had been in a bathtub instead of a saucepan, it would have tried to eat me.

“No matter,” I thought.  “Just because it’s a thicker consistency doesn’t mean it can’t be delicious!”  So, I went about making my latte to try out my latest syrup.  I must say I was actually surprised that something so thick didn’t pack more flavor.  Over the next several days, I tried again and again thinking I had maybe made my latte wrong, but every time I had the same result.

So, sadly, this was a total bust for me.  I am open to the idea that I messed something up (even though I have successfully made other syrups and the process is super straightforward), and I am open to the idea that maybe it was the quality of my candy that was a problem, but I’m probably not going to be trying this one again.  What a shame.  Peppermint is an awesome winter flavor.

If you’ve tried this and had better luck with consistency and flavor, I’d love to hear where you think I went wrong.  I really wanted this to work, and I was sad when it didn’t.

Leave a Reply

