Gingerbread Syrup and Latte

After how poorly my attempts at a pumpkin spice coffee syrup went, I was a little leery of other coffee syrup recipes.  I saw this recipe for gingerbread syrup, and was a little concerned that it didn’t have molasses in it. Could it really get a gingerbread taste without that?  Answer?  Yes!  You will need:

  • Sugar
  • Water
  • Cinnamon
  • Ginger
  • Vanilla

You will also need coffee and milk to make the latte.  Check out the full recipe (plus others!) here, or my pin on my Drinks on Me board.

Gingerbread Latte

Review

Like I said in the intro, I was hesitant to make this recipe, but I really wanted a holiday flavored coffee, so I decided to try this.  Boy am I happy I did!  The flavor was amazing!  This was exactly like a Starbucks gingerbread latte!  I made my husband try it (who usually is very picky about the syrups I make), and he agreed!  This was a definite winner!

I used this syrup every day for about a week and a half, but didn’t get through it.  The main downside is that if you don’t use it, you lose it.  I was thinking about a latte close to week two, but when I pulled out the syrup, it had started to do this strange caramel kind of thing that sort of weirded me out, and I decided to pitch it. I think it would have been better if I could have used it faster.

I think a quick, inexpensive gift would be to make some of this along with another holiday syrup flavor or two, put it in a small bottle, and tie a ribbon on it.  This would be great for a coworker or a friend that loves coffee.  I’d suggest peppermint (which I’m going to try out today!) and/or vanilla maple as great compliments to the gingerbread.  As a bonus, each recipe could easily cover several (I’m thinking 5ish) people, so it would be easy for the recipients to use it up before it went bad.  (Just make sure they know to store it in the refrigerator, and that some crystallization might occur.)

One thought on “Gingerbread Syrup and Latte

  1. Pingback: Peppermint Coffee Syrup and Latte | The Pinterest Wife

Leave a Reply

