Wine Bottle Vase

I’m not a huge wine drinker, but before I left Indiana, my friends took my on a winery tour which was a lot of fun.  While on the tour, I did find some wine that I enjoy, and purchased a bottle or two.  But once I had finished the wine I spent a lot of time staring at the bottle.  It screamed, “Craft me!” but just what to do with it?  Then it hit me: a vase!  For this project you will need:

  • A wine bottle
  • Yarn
  • Mod Podge or glue

yarn vase

Process

  1. Wash the wine bottle thoroughly.  You do not need to remove the labels, but you can.
  2. Set up as work space where you can get messy (because it will get messy).
  3. Using a brush or your finger, cover a small section of the bottle in glue.
  4. Start wrapping the yarn around the wine bottle in the glue.
  5. Repeat steps 3 and 4, working your way up the bottle.
  6. When you are done, coat the entire bottle in Mod Podge or some other sealer to keep the yarn from getting wet and molding.
  7. You’re done!  You can now put some water and flowers in your vase, or use it decoratively.

Tips and Tricks

  • You don’t have to complete the project all at once.  You can set it aside for days at a time and come back to it (which is what I did).
  • If you hate the feeling of glue on your hands, you can wear disposable gloves during this process.
  • When the bottle changes shape, it can get difficult (and even frustrating) to keep the yarn just where you want it.  Take your time, and don’t be afraid to pull the yarn off and reapply it.  I had to do this multiple times, and once I even walked away from it for a day or two because it got that frustrating.
  • Different types of yarn will make different looks.  I used thin, twine like yarn.  You could use chunky yarn, actual twine, a variety of different yarns, all to create different looks.
  • Once the yarn is done, you can always add more details. You could add some burlap or some silk flowers to create a look that better fits your décor.
  • This is a simple but elegant gift to give to a friend or that relative you never know quite what to get.
Leave a Reply

