Cinnamon Sugar Prezel Bites

I’ve had this pin sitting on my board for quite a while now, but I simply hadn’t made it.  So the other day when I was craving something sweet, I looked at what recipes I hadn’t tried and which recipes I had the ingredients for.  It was finally time for these pretzel bites to shine!  You will need:

  • Flour
  • Yeast
  • Baking Soda
  • Sugar
  • Cinnamon
  • Butter

Check out the full recipe here, or my pin on my Just Desserts board.

C S Pretzel Bites

Review

My bites did not turn out as pretty as the picture did, but that’s okay.  I’ve made these twice now, so obviously I was a fan of the recipe.  My husband really liked them, thus the second batch later that same week.  However, while the results were tasty, I had a few problems with the recipe.

One problem was that both times I felt like there was too much of a baking soda taste on some of the bites.  I am fairly certain this has something to do with how long the bite was in the boiling water, but it was still a shock whenever I popped one in my mouth and it felt like I was licking a baking soda covered spoon.  I guess this is more my fault than the recipe’s, but I did have less baking soda bite when I reduced the amount in the water with my second batch.

I also had difficulty rolling the dough into ropes to cut apart.  The dough just wasn’t very elastic for me.  I do think I might have been trying to make my ropes thinner than necessary, but even at the start my dough was uninterested in acting like a play-doh snake.

These drawbacks aside, this is still a great recipe.  It is time consuming, and not what I would label “easy,” but still worthwhile.  Obviously I’ve already made them twice, and I do anticipate making them again.  This is probably a once a quarter sort of recipe for me.

Leave a Reply

