Pumpkin Spice

Since it is fall, everything pumpkin spice is in the air!  I was determined this year to find a recipe for pumpkin spice coffee syrup so I could have a PSL at home any time I wanted.  I found this recipe and knew I had to try it.  For the syrup you will need:

  • Brown Sugar
  • Pumpkin Puree
  • Pumpkin pie spice

And for the latte you will need:

  • Strong coffee or espresso
  • Pumpkin Spice Syrup
  • Milk

Check out the original recipe here, or my pin on my Drinks on Me board.

pumpkin spice

Review

You guys, this was a real loser.  I was super disappointed with how it turned out.  For one thing, my grocery store doesn’t carry pumpkin pie spice, so I had to make some of my own by combining cinnamon, nutmeg, and all spice.  I don’t know that it was an exact match, but I did the best I could with what was available and what I could find through a Google search.  So, perhaps my lack of appropriate seasonings affected the overall outcome, but I don’t think it did too much.  My syrup never really came together.  It separated and had to mixed every time I tried to use it.  That said, I used it three times before I decided it was a waste and threw it out.  Because the syrup wasn’t great, neither was the latte.  But that’s really all on the syrup.  The latte ratios were fine.

Needless to say, I will NOT be making this again.  Such a bummer!  I will have to continue my search for the perfect pumpkin spice syrup recipe.  I assume that by the time I find it, the world will have moved on to peppermint everything.  Oh well.

One thought on “Pumpkin Spice

  1. Pingback: Peppermint Coffee Syrup and Latte | The Pinterest Wife

Leave a Reply

