Blueberry Muffins

While oatmeal is a great low-cholesterol breakfast, I can only eat it so many morning before I get bored.  Enter blueberry muffins!  I love muffin of all kinds, and nothing beats fresh blueberry muffins out of the oven.  For this recipe you will need:

  • Flour
  • Blueberries
  • Milk
  • Lemon
  • Orange

Of course, there is more to the recipe, so check out the original here, or my pin on my Breakfast board.

blueberry muffins

Review

This recipe was a little bit of a disappointment.  I loved that the source gave me all sorts of nutritional information, but the end result was a little bit lacking.  By no means was this a bad recipe.  In fact, in a pinch, I’d make it again.  I guess I just know that low cholesterol doesn’t need to mean low taste, and this tasted like a low cholesterol recipe.  It just felt a little bit less in the taste department.  It might have been my own expectations, though.  Blueberry and lemon is one of my favorite flavor combinations.  So, when I saw this recipe called for citrus with the blueberry I was really expecting more of a punch.

I will probably look for a recipe that uses oatmeal in the muffin recipe in the future.  That way I can pack my cholesterol fighting ingredients into the recipe, but hopefully not sacrifice as much flavor.

Leave a Reply

