Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Last week the husband noticed that our apples were going bad faster than we could eat them.  We didn’t want them to go to waste, so off to Pinterest to see what I could make with ingredients I already had on hand.  At first we were thinking apple cider, but we lacked the cheese cloth to do it properly.  Then I saw this crisp recipe and decided to give it a shot.  For this recipe you will need:

  • Apples
  • Flour
  • Sugar
  • Cinnamon
  • Oats
  • Butter

You can check out the original recipe here, or my pin on my Just Desserts board.

Apple Crisp

Review

This recipe smelled AMAZING as it cooked during the day.  My whole house smelled absolutely delicious.  When the husband came home, he commented on how good everything smelled.  As for the taste, well, it was just okay, but that was mostly my fault.  The recipe calls for something like 6 cups of sliced apples.  I didn’t have enough apples to make that much, so I just used all I had. The problem was, I didn’t scale the rest of the recipe accordingly.  Because of this, the whole thing turned out kind of dry.  But that’s on me.  I should have used less flour and oats.

Besides being dry, the flavor was actually pretty good.  I could tell that the sugar/cinnamon/apple combination was a good one.  Would I make this again?  Probably not.  I only made it because I needed to do something with the apples.  It made for a nice dessert that night, and the leftovers were decent the next morning as part of breakfast, but crisps, in general, are not one of my favorite desserts.  (I know-why did I make it then?)  However, if crisps were more my jam, this would be excellent to make when company comes over.  Not only will everyone comment on how great your house smells, it’s a simple recipe that doesn’t take much of your effort to complete.  Add some vanilla ice cream, and you’ve got a winner.

Leave a Reply

