Oatmeal for Breakfast

One of the changes I have made for my low-cholesterol diet is to make my breakfast more heart friendly.  I already knew that oatmeal was a good fit for this, but I wasn’t sure about what things I could mix into my oatmeal and still have it be healthy.  Luckily, I came across a whole set of recipes that told me just what to mix in, and how much.  I tried out three different recipes.  I used:

  • Oatmeal (of course)
  • Blueberries
  • Walnuts
  • Peanut Butter
  • Hot Chocolate Mix

You can check out all the recipes here, or see my pin on my Breakfast board.

oatmeal breakfast

Review

I tried these three recipes because their contents included things I mostly had on hand.  I didn’t have little marshmallows or chocolate chips, but those seemed like side items that I could do without.  That said, I think I would make a point to purchase those items so I could add them in.  The recipes weren’t bad without them, I can just tell now that they would really enhance the overall flavor.

My favorite was the blueberry nut recipe.  It was an awesome combination of flavors, and I think it, more than any other recipe I tried, made me believe that I had nothing to fear about bland oatmeal for breakfast.  My second favorite would be the peanut butter recipe.  I really liked how the flavor sort of permeated all of the oats.  I can tell that the addition of a few chocolates chips would really impact the flavor.  Besides, who doesn’t love a good peanut butter/chocolate combo?  That leaves the hot chocolate recipe.  This one wasn’t bad, but I think the addition of the marshmallows would really improve it.  This recipe also had the misfortune of being the first one I tried.  I learned the hard way that the ratios of oats to water on the box were not right for the consistency I prefer in my oatmeal.  This meant the addition of more oats to take care of all the liquid in my bowl.  I think this diluted the flavor and made it not as delicious as it was meant to be.

My main tip for making any of these would be to be careful when adding water to your oatmeal.  I don’t like soupy oatmeal, so I ended up slowly adding water until I met my desired consistency.  You can always add more water, but once you have too much, its a pain in the butt.  These recipes are meant for a single serving of oatmeal, so if you have to add more oats, its going to mess up the overall flavor.

I will definitely be making these again (in fact, I’ve already started).  I also can’t wait to try out some more of the recipes.  I’ll probably pick out three more to give a try.  I’ll let you know how those go.

 

Leave a Reply

