Goat Cheese Pizza

Pizza is probably my favorite food of all time.  It comes in so many delicious varieties, and has something to offer everyone.  It was a relief to see that there were some low cholesterol pizza recipes out there.  However, I was worried about the overall flavor I would get from the pizza.  Luckily, it turned out awesome.  For this recipe you will need:

  • Wheat pizza crust
  • Red onion
  • Walnuts
  • Olive oil
  • Goat cheese

You can find the original recipe here, or check out my pin on my Yum board.

goat cheese pizza

Review

I made some changes to this recipe (as you probably noticed in the picture).  My husband is not a fan of tomatoes, so I took those off and added some additional greens.  I also decided to add some spices to my olive oil as well as some garlic.  I warmed them together in a pan on the stovetop to help mix the flavors together.  I did not add salt to anything.  (Actually, it’s safe to assume I never add salt to things.  I rarely enjoy salt as an added flavor.)  Also, I did not pre-roast my walnuts.  So, even though I made these minor changes, the overall integrity of the dish was maintained.

This dish was, to date, my favorite dish from my initial search for low-cholesterol diets.  I really liked the flavors of everything.  I probably should have left the whole thing in the oven longer to get a more crispy crust, but that’s really the only thing I would do differently (besides what I outlined above).  The prep time for this dish was minimal, and I felt like the final product was a delight.  This dish is definitely going into my dinner rotation.

2 thoughts on “Goat Cheese Pizza

Leave a Reply

