Fish and Chips

One of the first things I did when I got home from my doctor’s appointment was start looking for low cholesterol recipes.  Over and over again I was being reassured that low cholesterol doesn’t have to mean low on taste.  So, I picked a series of recipes that looked like things I would want to eat and went grocery shopping.  Firs up on our list:  fish and chips.  For this recipe you will need:

  • Fish (I used tilapia)
  • Cornmeal
  • Bread Crumbs
  • Potatoes

You can check out the full recipe and ingredient list here, or check out my pin on my Yum board.

fish and chips

Review

First of all, this was a simple dish to create.  The process is very straightforward.  One of my annoyances with the recipe itself is that there are no guidelines about how long and what temperature to cook the fish and potatoes at.  Luckily, I purchased frozen tilapia fillets, so the bag had some cooking instructions.  As for the potatoes, I put them in the oven while I prepped the fish, and left them in the over for another 10 or so minutes once the fish was done.  Mostly I looked for a bit of a crispy edge to my potatoes.

One of the main drawbacks to this recipe is the lack of seasoning.  I didn’t have malt vinegar or lemon, so that would have helped, but I was surprised by the overall lack of flavor.  The recipe does call for seasoned breadcrumbs, and I did use them.  However, that was not enough to really add flavor to the fish.  In the future, I will probably add some pepper and other spices to my coating in order to amp up the flavor a bit.

I will definitely make this again.  It was easy to make and the main drawback is easy to overcome.  Obviously watching what I choose to add as a seasoning is important (no salt!), but, overall, it won’t change the low cholesterol benefits. Both the husband and I agreed that this was worth a second try and a place in our dinner rotation.

Leave a Reply

