Itch Relief

While cleaning my grandparents house I was bit all over my feet and ankles by, what I assume, were fleas.  My feet looked just like they did back in third grade when I had chicken pox.*  And the itching was terrible and intense.  It was possibly the itchiest I had ever been.

Mom and dad to the rescue!

She shared with me a little home recipe to help relieve the itch.  To mix up this home remedy, you will need:

  • Baking soda
  • Hydrogen peroxide

That’s it!  No, really!

All you need to do is pour some baking soda into a bowl.  Then, slowly pour in hydrogen peroxide.  Only add a little bit at a time. You won’t need much.  Mix in the peroxide until you have a spreadable paste. Once the mixture is ready, coat the affected areas with a layer of your paste. Let the mixture sit for 5-10 minutes.  Wash the paste off with a wet washcloth.  You should feel relief from the itching.  My relief lasted for a few hours, but your mileage may vary.

Tips and Tricks

  • Use a very light hand with the hydrogen peroxide. I added what I thought was a small amount, but turned out to be too much and I had to add more baking soda which meant I had more paste than I actually needed.
  • The paste will dry and harden and flake off.  I wish I had thought to do everything over a towel for easier cleanup.  Instead I ended up leaving a little trail of dried paste as I walked to the bathroom.
  • Have your wet washcloth ready to go by your towel for even easier cleanup.
  • This paste can dry out your skin, so keep that in mind.

I was almost in pain from the crazy itch that these bites gave me.  I spent a week trying itch creams and trying to ignore the pain before my parents came home and made this suggestion.  So, I do need to say that the itch had decreased from the original bites since they were a week old when I tried this.  However, they were still worse than a fresh mosquito bite. I am now two weeks out from the bites, and they are basically gone.  This mixture seemed to help more than any of the creams I tried.

*No pictures this week because it was seriously gross looking.

 

As a programming note, there will probably not be posts next week as I will be traveling back to Arizona.  I have blown through my cache of saved projects, and will need a few days to get to the grocery store and get back into my Arizona groove before I have something to post again.

Leave a Reply

