Jarlsburg Crustless Quiche

First of all, I want to apologize for not blogging on Friday.  I am on vacation, and I planned on having plenty of time to blog, but then life attacked.  I am visiting Indiana, and now I am caring for my grandparents due to a medical emergency.  Needless to say, everything else went by the wayside while I was dealing with that.  So, today I have for you the post that was originally slated for Friday.

I kept my trip to Indiana a bit of a secret because I wanted to surprise my book club.  This month they decided on something a little bit different:  we read a mystery book that included recipes.  Everyone picked one of the recipes and brought it to book club to be enjoyed by all. Since I was keeping my visit a secret, I had to pick from the recipes no one else selected.  That’s how I ended up with the quiche.  For this recipe, you will need:

  • Eggs
  • Cream cheese
  • Jarlsburg cheese
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Cottage cheese
  • Milk
  • Butter

There are a few other ingredients in small quantities as well.  This recipe can be found in the book Dying for Chocolate by Diane Mott Davidson.

quiche

Review

I was a little worried about this recipe because it starts off with making a cream sauce that gets added to the egg mixture.  I don’t have the best track record with things that involve heating milk, so I felt this worry was justified.  Turns out, though, it was very simple.  I have never been as excited about cooking as I was when that sauce started to thicken.

I was also a bit weirded out by the cottage cheese in the recipe.  I am not a fan of cottage cheese, so I wasn’t sure if I would like the final taste because of that.  Again, I need not have worried.  This recipe is delicious.  I really liked the final outcome.  With the ingredient list the quiche could have been heavy and overly-filling, but instead it was fluffy and not too dense.  The flavors were great too.  Everything came together beautifully.

This is not a low fat recipe, but darn if it isn’t delicious. Every recipe in the book was tasty.  I wouldn’t suggest reading the book (I was not a fan AT ALL), but the book is worth it for the twelve or so recipes.  Apparently the book is part of a series, so there are several other books, all with recipes.  If your library carries them, it’s worth checking out.

Leave a Reply

