Carrot Cake Trifle

My dad’s birthday is later this week, and he likes carrot cake.  So, in honor of his birthday, I thought I would try out this carrot cake trifle recipe. Carrot cake isn’t my favorite, and I thought that this recipe might help me enjoy it more.  The recipe includes a low fat option, which is the one I made (mostly because I already had some of the ingredients).  You will need:

  • Carrot cake mix (+necessary ingredients)
  • Cheesecake pudding mix (+necessary ingredients)
  • Cool whip
  • Caramel sauce
  • Pecans

Check out the original recipe (including the non low-fat option), or my pin on my Just Desserts board.

carrot cake

Review

This recipe was just okay.  I wish I hadn’t bought a cake mix with raisins in it. I know that raisins are pretty standard for carrot cake, but I just don’t like cooked raisins.  (I don’t mind them out of a box as a snack or in trail mix.  I just don’t like them in cake.  What was I thinking?)  That said, eating around raisins isn’t that hard.  What didn’t totally work for me was how the pudding/cool whip mixture soaked into the cake.  There was still pudding mixture that was separate from the cake, but it had started to get absorbed by the cake, and I found that to be a bit of a bummer.  I’m not sure how the other mixture reacts to the cake, so maybe that one is a bit better.

That’s not to say it didn’t taste good.  I really did enjoy the taste of everything.  I just was a bit disappointed by the sogginess factor.  I probably would make this again for a crowd that included carrot cake enthusiasts and carrot cake okayists.  I don’t know that this would win over people who were not fans of carrot cake, but it has enough other flavors going on that it just might.  If you like carrot cake, this it definitely worth a try.

One thought on “Carrot Cake Trifle

Leave a Reply

