Linoleum Print

Over the summer I have been taking part in a Young Adult book themed scavenger hunt hosted by one of my favorite websites, Forever Young Adult.  (If your interested in what I was doing all summer, check out all the Summer Showdown posts.). One of the final activities was to create a printed A-line skirt.  Now, we didn’t have to actually create the print ourselves, but I was super excited to give linoleum block printing a try and figured this was as good of a time as any.  Here’s what you need:

  • Linoleum block
  • Linoleum cutting tools
  • Paper
  • Pencil
  • Ink (I used fabric ink since I was printing on a skirt)
  • Ink roller
  • Painter’s tape

I used this video tutorial to show me how to create my stamp.  The tutorial is pinned on my Craft Ideas board.

linoleum print

Review

For my skirt, I went with an arrow theme so I could tie it to the Hunger Games since it was for a YA themed skirt.  Several of my friends commented that they thought it also felt vaguely Southwestern, which is also an excellent fit for my new home. Making the stamp was actually pretty easy.  I hadn’t done anything with linoleum block since, well, probably middle school art.  I was nervous about not messing up.  I sort of remember drawing directly on the blocks in school, but the tutorial instructs you to draw on paper with pencil and to transfer by rubbing your pencil drawing onto the block.  I felt like this was the perfect way to transfer my design.

I did not have a “proper” roller for my ink, and no stores around me carried one.  However, I used a regular paint roller with an extra smooth head on it.  I think this worked fairly well.  It still left a bit of texture on my block, but I actually liked the overall effect.  I taped off the bottom of my skirt so I didn’t have to have a perfectly straight line when I was printing.  I should also note that I cut out the skirt pieces, printed them, and then sewed the skirt.  I think this made for a better looking final product.

I has a lot of fun making this skirt, and I got a lot of compliments on it when I posted my pictures online.  I can’t wait to try out linoleum block printing again!

One thought on “Linoleum Print

  1. Pingback: January DIY Darby Box Review | The Pinterest Wife

Leave a Reply

