Rag Quilt

Right before I moved, my mom had asked me to make a few baby related projects that she could give to some of her friends that were pregnant or that had just given birth.  Knowing that I would have some free time, I was excited to jump into the projects.  Today’s project, the rag quilt, was the perfect started project for me!  You will need:

  • Fabric (I used minky and baby fleece)
  • A sewing machine
  • Batting
  • Thread and scissors

My mom sent me several pictures of rag quilts, but no tutorials.  Luckily, I found this awesome tutorial.  You can also check out my pin on my Crafts as Gifts board.

rag quilt

Review

I loved how simple this project was.  The pictures my mom sent me were all squares, so I went with squares instead of strips like the original tutorial.  I had never attempted anything like this before, so I was worried about my ability to make straight lines that lined up “perfectly.”  Luckily, I found this awesome additional tutorial that made me feel more confident about making perfect squares.  This is also pinned on my Crafts as Gifts board.

One of the parts that was hardest for me during the entire process was the final snipping of edges so they would curl nicely after I washed thru quilt.  My normal sewing scissors weren’t able to cut the small seam allowances as well as I wanted, so I ended up using some embroidery scissors.  I have never used those for a long period of time, and, while they did the trick, they also started to hurt my hands!

I didn’t get a “final” picture of my quilt because I was in a hurry to box it up and send it off to my mom so she could give it to her friend, but I was super pleased with the final result.  In fact, I already have squares cut and ready to go for my next quilt!

Leave a Reply

